“Beware of Virat Kohli”: AB de Villiers warns South Africa for two-match Test series

“Beware of Virat Kohli”: AB de Villiers warns South Africa for two-match Test series

Former South Africa captain AB de Villiers is expecting to see Virat Kohli among runs in the two-match Test series in South Africa. The Men in Blue will also play three T20Is and as many ODIs against the Proteas.

India skipper Rohit Sharma and Kohli have been rested from the white-ball games, which are set to start from December 10. Suryakumar Yadav is India’s T20I captain, while KL Rahul will lead in one-day internationals.

The first T20I will be contested in Durban, with the remaining two matches in Gqeberha on December 12 and Johannesburg on December 14. The ODI series will start on December 17 in Johannesburg. The second encounter is in Gqeberha on December 19 and the final match is scheduled in Paarl on December 21.

The tour will end with the much-awaited Freedom Series for the Gandhi-Mandela Trophy. Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma will return for the two matches. The first Test is in Centurion from December 26 to December 30, followed by a second and final Test of the series in Cape Town from January 3 to January 7.

“We will see the best of Virat Kohli against South Africa. He will be at his aggressive best in the series. South Africa will have to be careful against him as he is a big player and the whole Indian squad is world class,” AB de Villiers said.

India Test Squad for South Africa series

Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (WK), KL Rahul (WK), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Mohd. Shami*, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Prasidh Krishna.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *